# **2009 LEO Awards Winners**

## Winners for the year ending December 31, 2009

# **DIVISION I**

# Category 1: 401+officers

### **First Place**

Investigator D.M. Monticelli Henrico Division of Police

### **Third Place**

Investigator J.S. Carter Henrico Division of Police

# **Certificate of Appreciation**

Officer R.P. Gallagher Henrico Division of Police

Investigator J.M. Gregg Henrico Division of Police

Officer D.C. Oaks Henrico Division of Police

#### Category 3: 1 to 100 officers

#### **Second Place**

Captain Jeffery Kandler Richmond International Airport Police Department

Officer Stephen Long Richmond International Airport Police Department

Officer Carrie Loy Richmond International Airport Police Department

Officer Edward Marcano Richmond International Airport Police Department

Corporal Calvin Vann Richmond International Airport Police Department

# **DIVISION II**

# Category 2: 101 to 400 officers

## First Place

Deputy Jason Killian Frederick County Sheriff's Office

Deputy James Harney, Jr. Spotsylvania County Sheriff's Office

#### **Second Place**

Lieutenant Christopher Dunnavant Spotsylvania County Sheriff's Office Deputy Alexander Monroe Spotsylvania County Sheriff's Office

First Sergeant Jose Vasquez Spotsylvania County Sheriff's Office

### **Third Place**

Deputy Richard Lloyd, Jr. Spotsylvania County Sheriff's Office

Deputy Thomas Medina Spotsylvania County Sheriff's Office

Deputy Michael Tilman Spotsylvania County Sheriff's Office

Sergeant Kevin Walsh Spotsylvania County Sheriff's Office

# **Certificate of Appreciation**

Deputy Davis B. Hart, Jr. Spotsylvania County Sheriff's Office

### Category 3: 1 to 100 officers

#### **Second Place**

Corporal Timothy P. Schraff Winchester Police Department

#### **Third Place**

Deputy Joshua D. Noland Warren County Sheriff's Office

Sergeant Michael S. Ackerman Winchester Police Department

Corporal Shane Nichols Winchester Police Department

Sergeant Gregory L. Voorhees Winchester Police Department

# **DIVISION III**

### Category 3: 1 to 100 officers

### **Second Place**

Corporal Rusty Gordon Mecklenburg County Sheriff's Office

### **DIVISION IV**

### Category 3: 1 to 100 officers

#### **First Place**

First Sergeant John P. Thompson Wythe County Sheriff's Office

#### **Third Place**

Corporal Brian Bard Wythe County Sheriff's Office Deputy Robert Coleman Wythe County Sheriff's Office

Investigator George J. Kincer Wythe County Sheriff's Office

# **DIVISION V**

## Category 1: 401+officers

#### **First Place**

Sergeant Harry Atkinson Newport News Police Department

Master Detective Thomas A. Shull Newport News Police Department

Master Detective Edward Wilkinson Newport News Police Department

# **Certificate of Appreciation**

Sheriff Bill Watson Portsmouth Sheriff's Office

### Category 2: 101 to 400 officers

### **First Place**

Officer Nathanial McGanty Chesapeake Police Department

#### **Third Place**

Officer Specialist Edwin Alvarez Chesapeake Police Department

### **DIVISION VI**

### Category 2: 101 to 400 officers

#### First Place

Detective Henry P. McDaniel Roanoke City Police Department

Detective James Price Roanoke City Police Department

### **Second Place**

Officer Hugh D. Elsea Roanoke City Police Department

# **Third Place**

Officer Kinga A. Roszak Roanoke City Police Department

## **Certificate of Appreciation**

Officer Jason M. Call Roanoke City Police Department

### **DIVISION VII**

### Category 1: 401+officers

### First Place

Detective Jeremy Hoffman Fairfax County Police Department

### Category 2: 101 to 400 officers

#### First Place

Detective Chris Dengeles Arlington County Police Department

#### **Second Place**

Detective Damon Washington Arlington County Police Department

### **Third Place**

Detective Richard Conigliaro
Arlington County Police Department

# **Certificate of Appreciation**

Detective Charles Clark Arlington County Police Department

Detective Albert Taber Arlington County Police Department

## **DIVISION VIII**

### **Virginia Department of State Police**

### **First Place**

Special Agent J. Rick Elgin Special Agent William K. O'Dell Senior Special Agent William E. Stooks

#### **Second Place**

Trooper Christopher L. Brooks

#### **Third Place**

Trooper Sean G. Baldwin Trooper II C. Cory McGlothlin Trooper II Michael W. Patrick

### **Certificate of Appreciation**

Sergeant Robert Alessi Trooper Stephen L. Glovier Surveillance Agent Kenneth B. Hicks Trooper Travis M. Howard Trooper Wesley Paul Surveillance Agent Michael W. Slaw Trooper Ryan T. Woodhouse Trooper Michael A. Wrenn

# **DIVISION IX**

### **Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles**

### **Second Place**

Senior Special Agent Kevin P. McCormack

# MARK D. DEHART MEMORIAL LEO AWARD

Detective Jeremy Hoffman Fairfax County Police Department

# JARROD B. SHIVERS MEMORIAL LEO AWARD

Sergeant Harry Atkinson Newport News Police Department

# **LARGEST VIN ETCHING 2008 AWARD**

GEICO Insurance – June 17, 2009

# DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD

Senior Special Agent (Ret.) Randy D. Beeson